Enjoy a luxurious break at The Townhouse, Bayview

'We have just returned from The Townhouse after a two week holiday and wish we were still there !! we had the most wonderful time, the apartment was just gorgeous, beautifully decorated, spotless and with a fab roof terrace with stunning views.Rosemary the housekeeper took us to the apartment when we arrived in Makrigialos and had a welcome hamper for us, nothing was too much trouble for her. Bayview is a lovely complex, kept to a very high standard by Chris and Anja who were always on hand if you needed any information or advice.

Our two teenagers spent hours in the swimming pools and even though we went in July & August the pools and the sunbeds were never that busy, bliss !! We had a car for the two weeks which you need. Its a two hour drive from the airport to Makrigialos, which we knew and we also enjoyed travelling to Elounda where the children enjoyed the watersports, lovely restaurants and shops, we went onto Plaka which is beautiful and got a boat to Spinalonga which is a must especially if you have read The Island ! we enjoyed Agios Nikolaus which has a lovely atmoshere in the evenings and and also the more local town Sittia. Our favourite restaurant in Makrigialos was the Taverna on Diaskari beach, a beautiful setting with fantastic food and lovely staff,Dragons Cave was another favourite, too many to choose from ! I would highly recommend The Townhouse and cant wait to return one day !

Many thanks Julie & Steve for sharing your lovely apartment , Sharon & Steve' July 2014

We spent a glorious week at Steve & Julie’s Townhouse Bayview Crete, in September 2013. Our holiday was perfect in every way, we were so grateful to Rosemary for the very warm welcome, and also the little extras that were left for us on our arrival. The townhouse is simply beautiful, spacious, very clean and so well equipped. The view from the balcony took our breath away each time. We enjoyed keeping the sliding doors open to let all the sunshine pour into the living room and kitchen, where our little one year old daughter practised her walking & we enjoyed our complimentary wine. The townhouse is very tastefully decorated making it feel very homely & luxurious at the same time. On those extra hot days, the air conditioning was a nice welcome.

The rooftop is a wonderful place to enjoy morning tea, the magnificent sea & mountain views before heading out for the day. The beaches in the area are so beautiful, the main one in the village was perfect for our little one. The restaurants in the area also all very good, not to mention the takeaways for those lazy nights in. Every afternoon we would head back to Bayview and splash in the wonderful swimming pools. It was amazing to have a large enough pool to swim laps & keep fit - a nice surprise.

We cannot fault anything at Bayview and thoroughly enjoyed our first family beach holiday with our daughter - Thank you Steve & Julie. We hope to be back very soon.

Carla, Rob and Anna - Switzerland

'We have just returned from The Townhouse , where we had a lovely chilled holiday . The accommodation is very clean, well equipped and furnished to an extremely high standard, with beautiful views from every balcony and rooftop. The DVD collection was a plus for 2 teens and a 21 year old ,on the few times we stayed in to eat , as was the aircon The 2 pools are well maintained and on more than one occasion , we had the smaller one to ourselves, great to come back to after a day trip ! Chris & Anja , based on site at Bayview ,were happy to help with any queries and we had warm bread & croissants delivered many mornings .

Rosemary was also lovely , and checked on a couple of occasions ,that everything was ok for us. A car is a must as Bayview ,even if you just intend on staying in the local area, but you can get most of your daily requirements in Makrigialos . The bakery /coffee shop is an essential stop , which is where the bread /croissants come from,and so much more , the ice- cream being a delight . We were known to make a couple of visits a day some days ! Make a stop at the little house on the road just before Bayview , the family are lovely and very generous with their organic produce, a watermelon was picked specially. Diaskari beach ( sign for Green Beach ) is great for being fairly quiet, beds and shade to rent and a lovely taverna to provide a lazy lunch.

There are a variety of restaurants to choose from in the village and along the waterfront , including fish , cretan dishes and pizzas from the pizza oven. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday ,away from the crowds , in first class accommodation , then this is the place for you , we will certainly be returning.’

Gill and Peter June 2014

We just returned from our 2 weeks‘ journey to Crete where we – a family with three sons, aged 8, 12 and 14 - spent the second week (28th September until 5th October 2013) in Julie and Steve’s Townhouse. The apartment was exactly that what it had promised – we were absolutely satisfied. Highlight no. 1: the roof terrace, where we were having breakfast and some dinners, where we enjoyed the marvellous view to the Sea and the mountains, where we followed the sun sets while having a glas of wine and where we were pleased to see a wonderful sky of stars when it was night – and with luck we even saw some unforgetable shooting-stars! Highlight no. 2: the other 2 balconies on the first and second floor which invite to reading a good book while it is – during day time - too hot on the roof terrace. Highlight no. 3: the bright living area on the second floor with the well equipped kitchen. Highlight no. 4: the two swimming pools we all used each day after making a excursion and which mainly we had for ourselves. Highlight no. 5: the reservation procedure and information we got from Julie and Steve prior our journey – very easy, uncomplitated, and useful. Highlight no. 6: Rosemary who welcomed us in Makrigialos and took us to the house and who was very kind. Highlight no. 7: the ideal situation of Makrigialos: we did a lot of excursions, e.g. to many nice beaches near Bayview, to Agios Nicolaos, Sitia, Zakros, Xerokambos and sorroundings and followed also some of Julie and Steves proposals of tavernas. Hoping to come back to Crete one day we thank you, Julie and Steve, for making our stay in Makrigialos so unforgetable.

Ralph & Christine - Switzerland

My wife and I, and our daughter, her husband and their boys, aged three and six, stayed in the apartment belonging to Steve and Julie for a fortnight. Before we left we were given detailed information sheets about all we needed to know before and during our stay. In fact everything was there, and we didn't have to ask any questions at all.

We have been travelling quite a lot, and we have never been staying in an apartment so well equipped. Some nights we made our own dinners, which we ate on the roof with a fantastic panoramic view of the sea and the mountains.Since the roof is not bulit for being a playground for children, we had of course to keep an eye on the small children all the time when we were there.

When we stayed at Bayview there were hardly any other people in the swimmingpools, and we all and especially the children had a great time there. The swimmingpools are very well maintained and the area around is gorgeous.

There are many good beaches around, and our favourite beach is about two km east of Bayview. It is a cove, nearly 100 meters long of fine golden sand, and a fairly steep path leading down to this children's paradise.

We went to several tavernas, in actual fact we went to different tavernas each time,and the best was Stratos. On the bottom came Piperia in Pefki with average food and too busy waiters. We would like to thank Steve and Julie for a suberb holiday in their apartment, and if we come back to Crete, we know where we want to stay.

Oyvind - Norway

Bayview crete is the perfect place to stay in an un-spoilt part of crete in peaceful surroundings yet near enough to restaurants & shops.

A car is a must as too far to walk in the heat.

The town house to set out well with everything you would need , including dvd's for the kids & plenty of books & magazines too. The information pack from Steve & Julie was great & very detailed ( always a good start in a new place).

We had fresh bread & rolls delivered each morning still warm from the bakers which were delicious!! With 2 balconies & the lovely roof terrace there is plenty of space to enjoy eating/sitting outside. The roof terrace in particular is well thought out with comfy seating, table/chairs & a BBQ.

Eating out was a delight with plenty of restaurants to choose from all at a reasonable price.

We loved the Markis Grill with its friendly staff and amazing food situated right by the sea. As the children are served their food first buy them some fishing nets & after dinner throw in some bread, you'll see hundreds of fish gather round & the kids loved trying to catch them!!!

Kept them quiet while we enjoyed our meal in peace! All the restaurants we ate in were good & there are plenty to choose from.

We loved the Green beach with pretty green pebbles, you can hire a shade complete with hammock & two sun loungers for 8 Euros a day. Further along you can hire canoes, jet skis etc... which again were reasonable, we hired a pedalo for an hour at 10 euros.

We found an amazing coffe/cake shop in Makrigialos which sold every flavour ice-cream from chocolate to bubble gum for 1.50 Euro ( they were delicious!), we found ourselves stopping off every day on way back from the beach. The cakes too were amazing, was hard to choose sometimes what to have!

We found we loved Crete & there was plenty to do, the town house had every thing you could need & was very comfortable.

We can't wait to return as was the perfect holiday!

Rob and Sasha - Kent, UK.

Looked good on the web-site; better in reality!

If you are looking for a quiet area of Crete that has not been commercialised then this is the place for you. Whilst you could manage without, I would say a car is a must. With regards to the accommodation our expectations were high and we were not disappointed.

The townhouse is well designed and furnished to a high standard and catered for all of our needs. We used the bar-b-q on 3 or 4 occasions, buying the meat from the local butchers, and whilst vegetables are widely available, the local couple selling on the roadside not far from Bay View were very generous and affable and regularly had our custom. We ate in many of the Tavernas that had been recommended plus others, and enjoyed all of our meals.

We went to the Dragon and Cave, Green Beach, Pefki, the top-end of town, the Harbour and the beach front in Makrigyalos for meals and enjoyed them all. Snorkelling at the cove near the Dragon and Cave and at Green Beach was also very good. We drove round the east coast and over the mountains, stopping at a couple of villages on the way to Vai Beach where we spent the afternoon; a little commercialised but well worth the visit. We drove the more direct route back, having supper in Sitia. It was ok there by the Harbour side but I wouldn’t be in a rush to go back! 3 of the 5 of us jog and we enjoyed running up in the hills behind Bay View.

The owners Steve and Julie provided us with plenty of information prior to our holiday and gave plenty of feedback to the questions we had. Similarly, Chris and Anja who are responsible for the property maintenance at Bay View were very friendly and provided a service for fresh bread to be delivered daily if requested. I would highly recommend this property.

Gary - UK

Hi Steve & Julie
Sorry for not writing before now. We had a great time in Makrigialos. Your house is very nice and very well equipped. Everything was perfect. We enjoyed the pool, the small beaches along the road and the nice harbour in Makrigialos where we enjoyed eating at the local restaurants.
Also visits to Sitia, Kato & Agios Nikolaos were very exciting. We are looking forward to visiting your place again sometime in the future.
Thank you from Anne

Anne - Denmark, Date of Stay - July 2011

Hi Steve and Julie
Sorry for the delay but I’ve only just got around to sorting out my e-mails..... all 183 of them!!
Anyway your house.... it was fabulous! Amazing views and it had everything we needed. We had a totally fabulous time, your place is lovely. We visited may of the local beaches and the observatory one evening. Thank you for making it so homely and welcoming.
Regards
Dij x

Dij - UK, Date of stay: July 2011

Hi Steve & Julie,
We enjoyed our stay in your house at Bayview very much. It was very well equipped with everything we required. I found having a good internet connection was a real plus. Carol enjoyed the well equipped kitchen, and was full of praise for the well coordinated decor throughout the house. We made good use of the roof terrace which was a godsend after our first week in the North of Crete during a week of stormy cold weather.The views from the roof were awe inspiring and I've taken hundreds of pictures. We will certainly consider making a return trip to your house on our next trip to Crete. Rosemary was a great help in giving us directions and providing local information.
Regards,
Ron & Carol.

Ron & Carol - Canada, Date of Stay: March 2011

Recently returned from a relaxing weeks holiday at Bay View even with two teenagers in tow! A fabulous place to recharge the batteries before winter! The accommodation was exactly as described but the location and views exceeded our expectations, possibly the best house for views on the complex. The house was well maintained with quality furnishings throughout. The
complex was excellent, with I understand, more exciting developments to come. The pool was quiet at this time of year. The resort too was quiet at the end of october but still offered a selection of tavernas, we tried the ones suggested by Steve, hospitality and food both excellent. Excellent location to tour the south east coast of Crete, easy to find your way around, worth visiting Sitia and the nearby beaches. Good selection of DVD's and books provided by Steve and Julie kept my teenagers occupied most evenings. A great place to stay - particularly watching spectacular sunsets on balcony sipping local wine - what more can I say?

Jacqui, Cardiff, Date of Stay: October/November 2010

Our first experience with Homeaway and what a great one. The townhouse was 100% as described on the website. Very well equipped, superb location with a marvellous view over the Makrigialos bay, perfect orientation. Rosemary attended us when we arrived in the evening and guided us kindly to the appartment which is about 2 km from where she lives. The management of the Bay Crete view is excellent to. Anja helped us very friendly with usefull information. The swimming pool was never crowded and the maintenance of the public area is of a high level. As we like hiking, there were a lot of possibilities in the surrounding of Makrigialos: the gorges of Pefki, Pervolakia, Chohlakies, the isle of Chrissi,... Absolute nature walking! We definitely can recommend this townhouse to all Creta loving people.

Chris & Liset Alken, Belgium. Date of Stay: September 2010

"We had a fab two weeks at the end of August at Bay View. The town house was beautiful, home from home experience with views to die for. Incredible sunsets and we ended most evenings with a nightcap on the roof terrace, gazing at a blanket of stars. The house was spotless on arrival, the communal areas of the development very well maintained and it was not unusual to have the pool to ourselves (in August!!). Rosemary, our local contact, was a star. She gave us very helpful information on arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Just a short drive away Makrigialos was enchanting. The beach was lively (but not jam packed) with several nationalities. The sea was warm, clean and very clear. Now on to the food - loads of tavernas to choose from offering a huge menu of traditional fayre. We tried all Steve's recommendations and more, found it almost impossible to choose a favourite. The hospitality everywhere extremely friendly. Steve and Julie - thank you so much - an unforgettable holiday and we would love to return.
Andrea & Simon"

Andrea & Simon. Date of Stay: Aug 2010

We had a lovely family holiday in Bayview. The town house is well maintained and offers all the facilities you could want. The roof terrace is great with some wonderful views of the sea and mountains. The pool was never too busy and the beach in Makrigialos was excellent. We would certainly recommend this property. Many thanks Steve and Julie.

Caroline London. Date of Stay: July 2010

Hi Steve & Julie,
We fully intended to write to you as soon as we got back but had a hectic week-end on our return, then back to work and time just goes. Your house is absolutely fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was everything we hoped for and more... We loved Makrigialos. It has everything you need without being commercialised. Very friendly people the Greeks, and we made lots of friends, especially in "Zorba's". We had days out to Sitia, 'Ag Nik ' and also found a lovely tiny bay called Mocholos where we had lunch. I don't know if you have been there but certainly worth a visit... There is no doubt we will be back again in the future.
Kind regards Terri & Bob

Terri & Bob. Date of Stay: July 2010

Hi Steve & Julie,
I agree with Paul and Lola's report - you have a fantastic home in Bay View, Makrigialos. The information on your website makes it sound fantastic - it is accurate - stunning house, superbly equipped and breathtaking setting. First class. You were very easy to deal with, answered our few questions swiftly and I would book again. Rosemary, who looks after your house for you, was so kind. The restaurants you mentioned were all lovely, favourites being Dragon's Cave, Porphyra, Piperia at Pefki Village and the Olympio Bar in Makrigialos. The very local Diaskari beach and Taverna were ace. But many more still to try!!! I can't think of many places where you can feel totally safe but this is one of them - the people of Makrigialos are so helpful and it was lovely to feel so relaxed. The children loved the Go Kart track just outside Ierapetra. I hope to return.
Thank you again.

Clare & family C.E.H. Manchester. Date of Stay: June 2010

Dear Julie & Steve,
Just a quick line to say how much we enjoyed our holiday at your house at Bay View. What a beautiful house you have ! We couldn't believe the views from the balconies and the roof terrace, and the decor is simply stunning. We have been to Crete a few times, and we have never stayed anywhere that comes close. We got talking to a few other people at Bay View whilst we were there, and we enjoyed a very pleasant evening with some of them on our (your) roof terrace with a few drinks, and they were all blown away by the house. Being nosey, we managed to get a quick look at a couple of other places on Bay View where our new friends were staying, and while all were nice, we couldn't help feeling we were incredibly lucky ! Makrigialos was lovely. Fab beaches & everyone we met was so friendly. I think we tried all the restaurants that you recommended, and we can't fault your recommendations. Lunch at the Taverna on Diaskari Beach was a particular favourite with everyone. We are hoping to go to Bay View again over Easter, so we'll be in touch soon.
Thanks Again - David, Jacqui, & Tribe !

David, Jacqui, & Family. Date of Stay: Jul/Aug 09

What can I say ? We had to drop you a note just to tell you what a lovely time we had on holiday at your beautiful house last week. If Julie fancies designing the interior of our house in England, just give us a call ! What a lovely place Makrigialos is. Sitting here looking at the Manchester rain is not quite the same as lounging on that beautiful roof terrace with a glass of 'something chilled', looking out over the bay. Michael & Lucy are already asking when we can go back, and you don't get higher praise than that with our two. Your DVD library was very popular ! We loved the Porphyra restaurant by the way. I am now embarking on a mission to recreate the lovely things we ate on holiday. Can I get goat in Sainsburys ? We really did have a great time, and next Summer now seems a long way away. Thanks.
Anna, Conor, Michael & Lucy

Anna, Conor, Michael, & Lucy. Date of Stay: Aug/Sep 2009

The villa is set on the outskirts of Makrigialos which is a fantastic part of Crete. There is a great selection of beaches nearby, not to mention the lovely countryside. The town itself is busy enough to eat in a new interesting restaurant every night, but still small enough to retain an intimate feel. The villa itself was extremely clean and well maintained and the photos are an accurate reflection of how you will find the place. The roof terrace was a particular favourite for us, with views over the olive groves to the sea one side and the mountains the other. We visited in the final week of September and the weather was perfect- mid to late 20s with blue skies and a gentle breeze. Overall, we had a fantastic time and would highly recommend a stay here.
Paul & Lola

Paul & Lola Twickenham. Date of Stay: September 2009

des vacances inoubliables, géniales!!!
voila nous sommes revenus de nos vacances à bayview avec beaucoup de regrets!!! c’était tout simplement génial, la maison, l’accueil et tout le reste!! nous avions presque la piscine pour nous 5, pas beaucoup de monde, c’était super!!! Malheureusement nous n'avons pas pu beaucoup profité de la superbe terrasse sur le toît car le soleil y était du matin au soir et trop chaud pour manger. nous avons bien voyagé , 1500 km sur 2 semaines, la voiture impeccable avec best-car, service super à l’arrivée comme au départ!! juste un mot, super génial!!! triste de devoir repartir!!! nous avons découvert de superbes coins, Mohlos, la plage de Xerocambos! Il y a un restaurant également qui était super bon et très très sympa c’est le Faros, un peu plus loin que le Votsalo. Le Diaskari, succulent et le Stratos également. Les crêtois sont des gens charmants et très sympatiques!! Nous espérons y retourner bientôt!! je recommanderais cette location plus que parfaite!! Très bon contact avec les propriétaires depuis la réservation jusqu'au retour.

Micheline, Roland, Maureen Bruxelles, Belgique. Date of Stay: 01 July 2012

Image Gallery Click on an image below to view full gallery.

pix pix pix pix pix pix

The Loft, Bayview Another stunning holiday accomodation option.

Please have a look at our other stunning holiday accomodation available to rent.

the loft, bayview

View Now

Contact Us For any information that you require, including current availability, please contact us as follows.

Phone: +44 (0)7811 150966 (UK Hours)
E-mail: info@bayviewcrete.net

We also have a contact form which you can send your details to us and we will get back to you.

Contact Form